Systems Analysis & Design, Software Development and IT Consultancy

Systems Analysis & Design
Software Development
IT Consultancy


ieComputerSystems in association with RTÉ wins BT Inspired Award 2007

ieComputerSystems in association with RTÉ has scooped an award in the major IT competition, the BT Inspired IT Awards 2007. The Business Services Award was won for the comprehensive coverage of the 2007 General Election, in which our Election Software System played a major part.

The competition was set up to recognise and reward organisations whose IT teams bring strong competitive business advantage to IT projects. The awards attract entries across the board from Irish business and the public sector, from financial services and pharmaceuticals to health and education. The range and quality of entries reflects the diversity of IT applications and the huge part played by technology in today's organisations.

The election coverage planning began in 2006 with the establishment of an Election Steering Group, chaired by the Director-General of RTÉ. Successful delivery entailed the acquisition of an election results system (developed and managed by ieComputerSystems), a new on-line system, graphics software and a revamped phone system.

ieComputerSystem's Election System sent real-time feeds to RTÉ on-line (, RTÉ Aertel, INews, graphics (for broadcasting) and provided web based results enquiry access within RTÉ for presenters and their guests.

There was zero tolerance for error or downtime in the live marathon broadcasts across Television, Radio and On-line. The election consumed significant resources across RTÉ both in terms of personnel and facilities. Over 200 staff were deployed over the election weekend with resources allocated to count centres, key constituencies and the RTÉ campus. The RTÉ IT project manager was Charles Stewart, Programme Manager, Infrastructure Projects.

October 2007
Blue Pixel
Pictured at the awards: (left to right, back row): Ciaran McCabe, Triangle, sponsor of category; Peter Shields, Momentum NI, adjudicator; Joe Zefran, RTÉ Publishing; Robert O'Shaughnessy, RTÉ Publishing; Gerry O'Leary, RTÉ Central IT; Steve McNamee, ieComputerSystems; Richard Smith, RTÉ Central IT, (front row) Kevin Moore, Eurotek; Carol Coffey, RTÉ Graphics; Charles Stewart, RTÉ Central IT; Michael Ahern, T.D., Minister for Innovation Policy; Mark O'Herlihy, RTÉ Central IT and Denis Foley, RTÉ Central IT.




© Copyright ieComputerSystems Ireland Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Legal Issues
and Privacy Policy.